Tenth Plenary Session of TURKPA
September 28, 2021

The X Plenary Session of TURKPA hosted by the Parliament of the Republic of Kazakhstan took place on 28 September 2021, in the Spiritual Capital of the Turkic World – Turkistan. The theme of the Session was "Prospects for Turkic Inter-Parliamentary Cooperation".

Chairman of the Mazhilis of the Parliament of the Republic of Kazakhstan and TURKPA Chairman-in-Office Mr. Nurlan Nigmatulin delivered an opening speech. Heads of TURKPA member parliaments – Chairperson of the Milli Majlis of the Republic of Azerbaijan Mrs. Sahiba Gafarova, Chairman of the Jogorku Kenesh of the Kyrgyz Republic Mr. Talant Mamytov, Speaker of the Grand National Assembly of Turkey Mr. Mustafa Şentop, as well as First Deputy Speaker of the Hungarian National Assembly Mrs. Marta Matrai in the capacity of observer and Deputy Speaker of the Legislative Chamber of the Oliy Majlis of the Republic of Uzbekistan Mr. Ulugbek Inoyatov as a guest, made speeches during the Plenary Session. The event brought together parliamentary delegations, heads and representatives of Turkic cooperation organizations, observer organizations and other institutions, such as the Cooperation Council of Turkic Speaking States, TURKSOY, International Turkic Academy, Parliamentary Assembly of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation, Parliamentary Union of the OIC Member States, Interparliamentary Assembly of the CIS, Conference on Interaction and Confidence Building Measures in Asia, Ahmet Yesevi Kazakh-Turkish University and Kyrgyz-Turkish Manas University.

The agenda of the Session included the consideration and adoption of draft legal documents, reports and recommendations of the Permanent Commissions, adoption of the draft model laws on "Attracting Foreign Investments in Cinematography and Production of Audiovisual Works", "Cinematography", "Electronic Commerce", "Conservational Utilization of Energy Resources and Energy Efficiency".

Members of Parliament – Mr. İsmet Uçma (Turkey), Mr. Ryskeldi Mombekov (Kyrgyzstan), Mr. Amerkhan Rakhimzhanov (Kazakhstan) and Mr. Ahliman Amiraslanov (Azerbaijan) were elected as Chairs of the TURKPA Permanent Commission, while Mr. Sauytbek Abdrakhmanov (Kazakhstan), Mr. Nizami Jafarov (Azerbaijan), Mr. Salaidin Aidarov (Kyrgyzstan) and Mr. Recep Şeker (Turkey) were elected as Vice-Chairs.

The Plenary Session elected Mr. Mehmet Süreyya Er as the TURKPA Secretary General. Mr. Fuad Alakbarov and Mr. Talgat Aduov were elected as the Deputies Secretary General during the Session.

It was decided to hold the next Eleventh Plenary Session of TURKPA in 2022, in the Kyrgyz Republic. The Session was concluded with adoption of the Turkistan Declaration.

The Plenary Session was followed by a press briefing during which heads of the parliamentary delegations summed up the results of the X Plenary Session.