Jogorku Kenesh of the Kyrgyz Republic

The first convocation of the Jogorku Kenesh is officially the 12th convocation of the Jogorku Kenesh of the Kyrgyz SSR, which has the name "legendary parliament".

This convocation is famous for being a bridge between the old Soviet era and the newly independent Kyrgyz Republic. This "legendary parliament" adopted the first Constitution of independent Kyrgyzstan, state symbols, and put the national currency into circulation.

June 4 is the Day of parliamentarism of the Kyrgyz Republic.

In 1995-2000, Jogorku Kenesh deputies were elected by majority system. It consisted of two chambers – the Legislative Assembly and the Assembly of People's Representatives.

According to the reform of 1998, the Legislative Assembly consisted of 60 deputies (previously 35 deputies), of which 15 deputies were elected from the party list. The Assembly of People's Representatives consisted of 45 deputies (previously 70 seats). A total of 105 deputies.

Since 2005, a unicameral parliament has been elected, consisting of 75 deputies elected under the majoritarian system.

According to Article 70 of the Constitution of the Kyrgyz Republic, which was adopted in a referendum on June 27, 2010, the composition of the parliament was expanded up to 120 deputies (previously - 90) which were elected for a five-year term by the party list.

According to the Constitution adopted in the referendum in April 2021, as well as the results of the election of deputies, the Jogorku Kenesh of the Kyrgyz Republic of the 7th convocation consists of 90 deputies: 54 parliamentarians are elected according to the proportional system (open system), lists of candidates of political parties) in a single electoral district, and there are 36 deputies in the majoritarian system in single-mandate electoral districts.