Secretary General took part in OSCE PA Annual Session
July 8, 2019

Secretary General Mr. Altynbek Mamaiusupov participated in the 28th Annual Session of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly (OSCE PA) that took place in Luxembourg on 4-8 July 2019.

The Annual Session held under the theme “Advancing Sustainable Development to Promote Security: The Role of Parliaments” brought together nearly 300 parliamentarians from North America, Europe and Central Asia, as well as representatives of international organizations.

Mr. George Tsereteli, OSCE PA President, Mr. Fernand Etgen, President of the Chamber of Deputies of Luxembourg, Mr. Xavier Bettel, Prime Minister of Luxembourg, Mr. Steny Hoyer, Congressman of the United States addressed the opening plenary session.

In the Session’s framework, Secretary General Mamaiusupov met with the members of OSCE PA delegations from the TURKPA member countries.

The programme of the Annual Session included also meetings of committees, adoption of the Luxembourg Declaration, as well as numerous bilateral meetings and side events, reports on recent OSCE election observation missions and elections of Assembly officers.

On 4 July, during the meeting of the Assembly’s Standing Committee, incumbent OSCE PA Secretary General Mr. Roberto Montella was re-elected for a second five-year term starting in January 2021. The Assembly re-elected Mr. George Tsereteli (Georgia) as OSCE PA President for one year term and elected Victor Paul Dobre (Romania), Azay Guliyev (Azerbaijan) and Nilza de Sena (Portugal) as Vice-Presidents as well.