Nur-Sultan hosted Fourth Eurasian Meeting of Speakers
September 24, 2019

On 23-24 September 2019, TURKPA delegation headed by Secretary General Mr. Altynbek Mamaiusupov attended the Fourth Meeting of Speakers of the Eurasian Countries’ Parliaments held in Nur-Sultan and hosted by Mazhilis of the Parliament of the Republic of Kazakhstan. The main theme of the event was “Greater Eurasia: Dialogue. Trust. Partnership”.

The meeting that brought together parliamentary delegations from 65 countries, representatives of international and inter-parliamentary organizations, was chaired by Mr. Nurlan Nigmatulin, Chairman of Mazhilis of the Parliament of the Republic of Kazakhstan and attended by the heads of the TURKPA member parliaments Mr. Ogtay Asadov (Azerbaijan), Ms. Dariga Nazarbayeva (Kazakhstan, Senate), Mr. Dastanbek Dzhumabekov (Kyrgyzstan) and Mr. Mustafa Şentop (Turkey, TURKPA Chairman-in-Office). First President of Kazakhstan - Elbasy Nursultan Nazarbayev also participated in the event.

Secretary General Mr. Altynbek Mamaiusupov delivered a speech. Noting the parliamentary diplomacy as an increasingly effective and flexible mechanism in the development of multilateral cooperation, Mr. Mamaiusupov stressed the significance of the meeting in discussing the ways to ensure international security and sustainable development in Eurasian region. Secretary General gave information on current and future activities of the Assembly and expressed readiness of the organisation to develop mutually beneficial cooperation with international and inter-parliamentary structures, especially with those in Eurasian region.

During the event, Secretary General was accompanied by Mr. Nauryz Aidarov, TURKPA Deputy Secretary General.

The meeting included an opening ceremony, 3 plenary sessions and a final session and was concluded with adoption of the final document. The next Meeting of Speakers of Eurasian Countries’ Parliaments will be held in Indonesia in 2020.

On the sidelines of the event, Secretary General met with the heads of the TURKPA member parliaments, as well as with the heads of parliamentary delegations of Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan.